R
wininganddining.co.zaWining and Dining

Karibu Restaurant

Click here to go back to Karibu Restaurant.


Cuisine: South African , Grill , Seafood
Ambiance: Trendy
Average main course: R190
Licensed: no

Open: Lunch, Dinner
Monday - Sunday:
11:00 - 23:00

Reviews of Karibu Restaurant(54 reviews) - Write a review



Average Scores
Overall (9.5)
Food (9.5)
Service (9.6)
Ambiance (9.4)
Location (9.6)
Value (9.4)
Recommend (9.7)


Fantastic , 09 Nov 2013
Reviewer: Clair Berry (Adventurousness: What is the chef's special today?)

Comments: Food was fantastic, had an amazing evening. Will definitely be coming back for some more.

Scores:
food: 10service: 10ambiance: 10location: 10value: 8recommend: 10
Analogies Of African Soul, 15 Jun 2013
Reviewer: Michael de Châtillon (Adventurousness: I'll order it as per the menu.)

Comments: Entertaining guests from abroad is never an easy task, especially as they are used to the best cuisine in the world, and here Karibu stands out and delivers the taste of South Africa and Africa with their scrumptious and well-prepared food creations. I opted for the Springbok Carpaccio starter followed by Springbok Shank (I had to go that route as I am well-versed with the Snoek my guests enjoyed). She had Fresh Oysters and he also started with Springbok Carpaccio, both of which were simply unbeatable, especially the shank, possibly the best I ever had. The dessert I chose was Hertzog Cakes with Ice Cream and I insisted on some cream too. We had an excellent waiter and the maitre d even decanted our wine to air it a bit. The service was great and the food, some of the best we have had in a while. My guests were very impressed and we left after copious amounts of drinks, very late - a good 3 hours spent in your hospitality. Thank you for making our evening super.

Scores:
food: 10service: 10ambiance: 8location: 10value: 9recommend: 9
Great night at Karibu, 21 May 2013
Reviewer: anonymous (Adventurousness: What is the chef's special today?)

Comments: On a visit to Cape Town for 4 days we had the pleasure of dining at Karibu. The view of the mountain is unbeatable and their selection of South African cuisine is varied and delicious!

Scores:
food: 10service: 10ambiance: 10location: 10value: 8recommend: 10
First timer at Karibu, 21 May 2013
Reviewer: anonymous (Adventurousness: What is the chef's special today?)

Comments: I really like the location of this place as it is right on the water. The fact that blankets are provided is also a nice gesture. Our waitress was very helpful with the menu and the overall service was good.

Scores:
food: 10service: 8ambiance: 10location: 10value: 10recommend: 10
Consistent, 15 May 2013
Reviewer: deon jacobs (Adventurousness: What is the chef's special today?)

Comments: I have visited this restaurant a few times and its always great.

Scores:
food: 8service: 8ambiance: 6location: 10value: 9recommend: 10
Great stay, 19 Apr 2013
Reviewer: Louise (Adventurousness: What is the chef's special today?)

Comments: Fantastic food, really good quality, very nice and friendly service.

Scores:
food: 10service: 10ambiance: 8location: 9value: 10recommend: 10
First night dining Cape Town Waterfront, 18 Apr 2013
Reviewer: Martin Nichols, York UK (Adventurousness: What is the chef's special today?)

Comments: Great food and wine choice. Service excellent. Highly recommended.

Scores:
food: 10service: 10ambiance: 10location: 10value: 10recommend: 10
A great evening was had by all!, 10 Apr 2013
Reviewer: Jane Vosloo (Adventurousness: What is the chef's special today?)

Comments: We found the staff to be very attentive and we were made to feel unhurried and very welcome. We will definately return to Karibu on our next visit to Cape Town. Well done everyone.

Scores:
food: 10service: 10ambiance: 10location: 10value: 10recommend: 10
Great place to eat, 30 Mar 2013
Reviewer: Inger Lise (Adventurousness: I wish i had married a celebrity chef!)

Comments: We all four loved this restaurant which served us delicious food. Good recommendation on nice wine! We would definitely come another time!

Scores:
food: 8service: 10ambiance: 10location: 10value: 9recommend: 10
Great, 21 Mar 2013
Reviewer: anonymous (Adventurousness: I can't pronounce it, but i'll eat it!)

Comments: The food was so yummy! It was very South African which is exactly what we wanted. The service was great. We loved it and we would definitely recommend it!

Scores:
food: 10service: 10ambiance: 8location: 9value: 9recommend: 10
Delicious food, 07 Mar 2013
Reviewer: anonymous (Adventurousness: What is the chef's special today?)

Comments: It was a very nice evening with great food.

Scores:
food: 9service: 9ambiance: 10location: 10value: 9recommend: 10
Authentic South African Food, 05 Mar 2013
Reviewer: Blockhuis (Adventurousness: What is the chef's special today?)

Comments: It was a good South African dinner. We enjoy the place and the nice people of the restaurant.

Scores:
food: 8service: 8ambiance: 8location: 9value: 8recommend: 8
Very nice service and food, 27 Feb 2013
Reviewer: Linus (Adventurousness: What is the chef's special today?)

Comments: The food is very tasteful and comes quick after order. Great service.

Scores:
food: 10service: 10ambiance: 10location: 10value: 10recommend: 10
Simply Fantastic, Authentic, 21 Feb 2013
Reviewer: B. Anderson (Adventurousness: I'll order it as per the menu.)

Comments: This American was introduced to South African culture and cuisine just three months ago, but has since been immersed in the meaty and hearty tastes of South Africa. No restaurant in the V&A Waterfront area even comes close to capturing the tastes of South Africa. Come and experience warm hospitality and fabulous food that will leave you wanting more. I am sure to return to Karibu when next I return to Cape Town.

Scores:
food: 10service: 10ambiance: 10location: 10value: 9recommend: 10
Nice evening, 12 Feb 2013
Reviewer: anonymous (Adventurousness: What is the chef's special today?)

Comments: We have spent a lovely evening with delicious seafood at the Karibu. the food and the service was good and we had a splendid view ofth table mountain. We wish we could come again more often but unfortunately we come from Germany.

Scores:
food: 10service: 10ambiance: 10location: 10value: 10recommend: 10
A great evening out , 08 Feb 2013
Reviewer: Mat and Mel (Adventurousness: What is the chef's special today?)

Comments: This was our first time to Karibu and it will not be our last. With an amazing view and excellent food and service, this was a special evening. Would recommend to anyone.

Scores:
food: 10service: 10ambiance: 10location: 10value: 10recommend: 10
Nice evening, 03 Dec 2012
Reviewer: anonymous (Adventurousness: What is the chef's special today?)

Comments: Service was very good and location very pretty.

Scores:
food: 8service: 10ambiance: 10location: 9value: 7recommend: 8
A lovely evening in Cape Town, 01 Dec 2012
Reviewer: amanda and Edward stern and any and Kay Devine (Adventurousness: What is the chef's special today?)

Comments: Friendly efficient service, unhurried service though the restaurant was busy. A knowledgeable and helpful sommelier. Steak was perfect, food hot and timely. Highly recommended. Congratulations. A wonderful culinary experience!

Scores:
food: 10service: 10ambiance: 10location: 10value: 10recommend: 10
Thank you so much , 29 Nov 2012
Reviewer: Karin Bierhalter (Adventurousness: What is the chef's special today?)

Comments: Great food, very nice service, we enjoyed the evening very much.

Scores:
food: 10service: 10ambiance: 10location: 10value: 10recommend: 10
Just a perfect Sunday evening, 25 Nov 2012
Reviewer: Juju (Adventurousness: What is the chef's special today?)

Comments: Thank you very much for that wonderful evening. The food was delicious and the service were was just perfect. We really had a special evening. Thank you! We really enjoyed it! We would like to come back if it wasn't so far away from Switzerland.

Scores:
food: 10service: 10ambiance: 10location: 10value: 10recommend: 10
Good place to bring tourists, 23 Nov 2012
Reviewer: Karen Le Roux (Adventurousness: What is the chef's special today?)

Comments: Food is exotic well prepared the atmosphere is pleasant and relaxing and the staff are superb. The scenery is also fantastic, and our client had the time of is life.

Scores:
food: 10service: 10ambiance: 10location: 10value: 10recommend: 10
Excellent Thanksgiving Dinner, 22 Nov 2012
Reviewer: anonymous (Adventurousness: What is the chef's special today?)

Comments: Well, there are not so many Cape Town restaurants with turkey on the menu, but fellow land-lubbing ostrich seemed just the thing. Karibu did a fine job with that, and with providing and excellent celebratory mean in general, complete with sweet potatoes, corn, a trio of salads, excellent breads, several other meats (springbok, lamb, beef, boerewors), a maize / relish preparation (with a delightful name eluding memory at the moment), and a truly-excellent finisher in the for of Death by Chocolate. The wait staff, manager and sommelier were all very helpful. I look forward to coming back. Soon.

Scores:
food: 10service: 10ambiance: 10location: 10value: 10recommend: 10
Fantastic meal, 14 Nov 2012
Reviewer: Andrew Thomas (Adventurousness: What is the chef's special today?)

Comments: A wonderful atmosphere at the city waterside, the meal was very good and our hostess Megan was fantastic. Millie our waitress was very friendly and knowledgeable. I recommend this restaurant and we have come back many times.

Scores:
food: 10service: 10ambiance: 10location: 10value: 10recommend: 10
Food was excellent, 19 Jun 2012
Reviewer: Kobus smit (Adventurousness: What is the chef's special today?)

Comments: Absolute delicious.

Scores:
food: 10service: 10ambiance: 10location: 10value: 10recommend: 10
Excellent experience!, 27 Feb 2012
Reviewer: Michelle Brandon (Adventurousness: What is the chef's special today?)

Comments: Fabulous dining, recommended for everyone. Great food and great service!

Scores:
food: 10service: 10ambiance: 10location: 10value: 10recommend: 10
Great evening out! , 16 Feb 2012
Reviewer: anonymous (Adventurousness: What is the chef's special today?)

Comments: Excellent African Game. Plenty Of variety to please anyone and a great location overlooking the harbour. The service was also a excellent. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a good meal and an enjoyable evening out.

Scores:
food: 9service: 10ambiance: 9location: 10value: 10recommend: 10
Our first evening in Cape Town, 16 Feb 2012
Reviewer: anonymous (Adventurousness: What is the chef's special today?)

Comments: It was a nice experience in Karibu ! We love the steaks and enjoy the friendly service!
The medallions of Venison could be a little bit softer, but I would still recommend this place.

Scores:
food: 7service: 9ambiance: 7location: 7value: 8recommend: 8
First time guests, 14 Jan 2012
Reviewer: anonymous (Adventurousness: I can't pronounce it, but i'll eat it!)

Comments: Great experience, super location and good service.

Scores:
food: 8service: 9ambiance: 8location: 8value: 10recommend: 9
An evening in Karibu, 14 Jan 2012
Reviewer: Maura donnellan (Adventurousness: What is the chef's special today?)

Comments: Our first night in Cape Town we were looking for somewhere close to our hotel and we. Came across Karibu. Joseph welcomed us in and took very good care of us? The menu had a huge selection to choose from and as a vegetarian I was spoilt for choice. My Greek Salad was excellent and the Malay of Veg was delicious, Thoroughly recommend it. My boyfriend had rump steak and found it to be chewy but everything else was great. Joseph even got us a wine expert to advise on what to have with steak. The management were very friendly and came to see if we enjoyed everything. All in all a lovely evening in a lovely restaurant in a beautiful city.

Scores:
food: 8service: 10ambiance: 9location: 10value: 9recommend: 9
A great evening , 13 Jan 2012
Reviewer: Debbie Anderson (Adventurousness: What is the chef's special today?)

Comments: A wonderful evening with Admire being a very attentive and charming waiter, very knowledgeable too! So impressed we have booked for tomorrow night too before we fly back to a chilly UK. Thank You x

Scores:
food: 10service: 10ambiance: 10location: 10value: 10recommend: 10
Restaurant experience, 17 Dec 2011
Reviewer: S Myburgh (Adventurousness: I wish i had married a celebrity chef!)

Comments: True SA food, excellently prepared. A must for a tourist that wants a taste of real South African food!

Scores:
food: 8service: 8ambiance: 7location: 8value: 8recommend: 8
Just Perfect!, 05 Dec 2011
Reviewer: anonymous (Adventurousness: What is the chef's special today?)

Comments: Try the beef-fillet with chilly-chocolate-sauce! We just had the perfect dinner.

Scores:
food: 10service: 10ambiance: 10location: 10value: 10recommend: 10
Fantastic, 03 Dec 2011
Reviewer: Derek Williams (Adventurousness: I can't pronounce it, but i'll eat it!)

Comments: The starter the Karibu trio, was a complete revelation,it was a taste I had previously tasted in my mind and never thought for one minute that it would taste so good. The Malay curry gave all the flavours without the heat and quite literally fell apart in my mouth. I have eaten in many restaurants in many countries and this rated amongst the best.

Scores:
food: 10service: 10ambiance: 10location: 10value: 10recommend: 10
Highly Recommended, 02 Dec 2011
Reviewer: Rachel Hare (Adventurousness: What is the chef's special today?)

Comments: Excellent service, atmosphere and food. Would highly recommend this restaurant.

Scores:
food: 10service: 10ambiance: 10location: 10value: 10recommend: 10
Great authentic food, 02 Dec 2011
Reviewer: anonymous (Adventurousness: What is the chef's special today?)

Comments: We really liked the bobotie and the oxtail. And the Malva pudding is superb! Came here two nights in a row. And we loved the live music.

Scores:
food: 10service: 9ambiance: 9location: 9value: 9recommend: 10
T Bone steak, 01 Dec 2011
Reviewer: anonymous (Adventurousness: What is the chef's special today?)

Comments: Well prepared, more than I bargained for. Great atmosphere.

Scores:
food: 9service: 9ambiance: 8location: 9value: 10recommend: 10
Amazing restaurant, 01 Dec 2011
Reviewer: Kerry Foy (Adventurousness: What is the chef's special today?)

Comments: Great atmosphere. Fantastic service, very friendly and efficient. Sandra was our waitress and she gave great advice and always with a smile. Food was very fresh and tasty. Would definitely recommend and would return.

Scores:
food: 10service: 10ambiance: 10location: 10value: 10recommend: 10
Amazing food !, 01 Dec 2011
Reviewer: Tracy (Adventurousness: What is the chef's special today?)

Comments: We enjoyed the delicious food - lots to choose from and advice on the best dishes from our waitress helped us to enjoy a great dinner!

The selection of wines is really good and nothing is too much trouble. We especially enjoyed the singing choir who entertained us during dinner.

Will definitely visit next time we are in South Africa.

Scores:
food: 10service: 10ambiance: 10location: 10value: 10recommend: 10
Atmosphere, 27 Nov 2011
Reviewer: anonymous (Adventurousness: What is the chef's special today?)

Comments: A perfect combination between laid back atmosphere and quality food with excellent service. Best wines of the region!

Scores:
food: 8service: 8ambiance: 9location: 8value: 8recommend: 8
Lovely food and atmosphere, 25 Nov 2011
Reviewer: Jane Pruden (Adventurousness: I can't pronounce it, but i'll eat it!)

Comments: Perfect opportunity to try local food. Fantastic food and service - really nice evening, thank you!

Scores:
food: 10service: 10ambiance: 10location: 10value: 10recommend: 10
Yorkshire diners, 21 Nov 2011
Reviewer: Becky annison (Adventurousness: What is the chef's special today?)

Comments: Fab food and atmosphere, especially good for a veggie. Great Snoek and desserts!

Scores:
food: 9service: 9ambiance: 9location: 8value: 9recommend: 9
Fantastic steak!, 19 Nov 2011
Reviewer: Scott Edwards (Adventurousness: What is the chef's special today?)

Comments: Superb sirloin cooked to perfection. If you like steak, this is the place for you! Fantastic outdoor seating overlooking Table Mountain and the Waterfront.

Scores:
food: 10service: 10ambiance: 10location: 10value: 10recommend: 10
Nice evening, 19 Nov 2011
Reviewer: Timo (Adventurousness: I can't pronounce it, but i'll eat it!)

Comments: It was our 2nd evening at Karibu and once again we experienced a great evening with an amazing atmosphere.

Scores:
food: 10service: 10ambiance: 10location: 10value: 10recommend: 10
Wonderful food!, 19 Nov 2011
Reviewer: Maureen (Adventurousness: What is the chef's special today?)

Comments: Great atmosphere, Patton was a great server, chicken curry was lovely!

Scores:
food: 8service: 9ambiance: 9location: 10value: 9recommend: 9
Brilliant evening , 18 Nov 2011
Reviewer: Magpie black (Adventurousness: I wish i had married a celebrity chef!)

Comments: Came for a meal got fantastic food, great staff and traditional music. Looking forward to coming back soon.

Scores:
food: 10service: 10ambiance: 10location: 10value: 10recommend: 10
Service is very friendly, 18 Nov 2011
Reviewer: Langmeier (Adventurousness: What is the chef's special today?)

Comments: Our waiter explained the menu card in detail and he made good recommendations. We have chosen his recommendations. Also his knowledge about wines seems to be comprehensive and his selection was good. The food was good, taste was nice.

As a total: A place to recommend.

Thank you

Scores:
food: 10service: 10ambiance: 10location: 10value: 10recommend: 10
Bravo!, 18 Nov 2011
Reviewer: Joanne Stewart (Adventurousness: What is the chef's special today?)

Comments: Loved the decor, food fabulous would recommend the ostrich and the death by chocolate is a great way to die but I dare u to finish it. Great Service. Thank you very much!

Scores:
food: 10service: 10ambiance: 6location: 8value: 7recommend: 8
South African dinner, 18 Nov 2011
Reviewer: Bünyamin (Adventurousness: What is the chef's special today?)

Comments: Perfect service, Brilliant someleir and Perfect Recommendations. Very friendly and polite.

Scores:
food: 10service: 10ambiance: 10location: 10value: 10recommend: 10
Adeles birthday dinner, 18 Nov 2011
Reviewer: Hendrik Bothma (Adventurousness: What is the chef's special today?)

Comments: We had a fabulous meal in a pristine setting. Definitely will return! Thank You Patson and Karibu for a memorable event.

Adele and Hendrik

Scores:
food: 10service: 10ambiance: 10location: 10value: 10recommend: 10
What a night!, 16 Nov 2011
Reviewer: Ian milner (Adventurousness: I'll order it as per the menu.)

Comments: Great food, excellent service and an enthusiastic wine sommelier's brilliant pairing suggestions made this an unforgettable night! Will definitely be back! Thank you Roz!!

Scores:
food: 10service: 10ambiance: 10location: 10value: 10recommend: 10
Great night, 16 Nov 2011
Reviewer: Isabel white (Adventurousness: What is the chef's special today?)

Comments: Had a lovely evening. Food was beautiful and the service five star! Highly recommend.

Scores:
food: 10service: 10ambiance: 10location: 10value: 10recommend: 10
Crayfish experience, 16 Nov 2011
Reviewer: Asa taube (Adventurousness: I wish i had married a celebrity chef!)

Comments: Excellent taste and mix of flavours. Perfect service and support with the choice of wine.

Scores:
food: 8service: 9ambiance: 7location: 9value: 7recommend: 10
Great night, 16 Nov 2011
Reviewer: Meryl (Adventurousness: What is the chef's special today?)

Comments: Very good food, I really enjoyed the atmosphere! I was unsure of what type of food I was looking for but at the end of the night I was very satisfied and happy! Good service.

Scores:
food: 8service: 8ambiance: 10location: 9value: 6recommend: 9
Wonderful opening evening , 16 Nov 2011
Reviewer: Keith Jerstice (Adventurousness: I can't pronounce it, but i'll eat it!)

Comments: On viewing most of the restaurants on the waterfront we decided on KARIBU for the first meal of our honeymoon and were not disappointed. Wonderful food, service and ambiance. Would recommend to any visitor to Cape Town.

Scores:
food: 10service: 10ambiance: 10location: 10value: 10recommend: 10
Click here to go back to Karibu Restaurant.
Write a review
Have you been to Karibu Restaurant recently? Share your dining experience by writing a review here!
Review title:
Name:
Email:
Food mood:
Rank this restaurant
food:
service:
ambiance:
location:
value:
recommend: